Hats off

At this time of year I always have an irresistible urge to knit accessories: hats, scarves, arm warmers, leg warmers… you name it. But this winter I think I need to take a break. Why? I just reorganised my wardrobe, and seeing all of them in one place came as a bit of a shock.

In my defence, my hat collection spans at least a decade and a half – and I do still wear them all. Most of them… Sometimes.

There’s the beanie bought for my first Reading festival; a stripy hat taken on a climbing trip with school; the oversized one I wore to play football at uni; a bargain baker boy from Accessorize; my favourite Fair Isle, a Christmas gift from my parents; a slouchy one bought to replace another, moth-eaten slouchy one; a stashbuster knitted on the Eurostar; a quick knit taken on holiday with friends; and the souvenir alpaca from Germany, made into a lacy Lucy in the Sky.

SarahLouKnits Lucy in the Sky

Sorry, Caput Helianthus and all the others in my Ravelry queue, you’re just going to have to wait.

Leave a comment