Hooked on granny squares

SarahLouKnits Summer Garden

Well, I can’t say I wasn’t warned. Wherever the words ‘granny’ and ‘square’ appear, the words ‘addiction’ and ‘obsession’  are never far behind. And for good reason – these little squares are just so satisfying!

I’d been looking for a use for my Sirdar Summer Stripes for a long time – what on Earth to make with 11 balls of variegated yarn, each in a different colourway? After a bit of swatching I discovered that the colour changes are long enough to allow each ball to be rewound into lots of small nearly-solid skeins. Perfect!

As for the pattern, it had to be something from Lucy at Attic24. I’m pretty new to crochet, and her walkthroughs are really clear and simple, ideal for a beginner. My Summer Garden blanket is on the hook, and I’m down the rabbit hole…

Ravelry_summergarden2

Leave a Reply

